I am releasing an EP!

Links and other hanky panky that doesn't have to do with anything in particular.
Ryan Rickenbach
Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love
Instruments: Guitar
Recording Method: Ableton, Onyx Blackjack, MXL V67

I am releasing an EP!

Post by Ryan Rickenbach »

Songfighters!

This website inspired me to write my very first song "So Kind Stacey" at the tender age of 15. After many, many embarrassing entries (and even one victory!) the song-fighting gradually succumbed to the booze-induced haze of higher education, and I wasn't around here so much. I did keep writing however, and five years after I graduated college (Go Terps) I've found myself pursuing music professionally. I'm in New York and very poor but I have just released a single from my first EP. You can hear it here: https://ryanrickenbach.bandcamp.com/track/no-good-thief I'm in the middle of promoting it now and I've never done any of this so it's a big-fucking-pain-in-the-ass-learning-experience that has got me really reflecting on a bunch of stuff, like how dirty I feel when I pay facebook to promote my stuff and how the hell I ended up where I did.

Which leads me to this:

Songfight really, truly, altered the trajectory of my life. The constructive criticism and support I received at such a formative time in my life was a beautiful thing. I am so damn thankful to JB and Spud and everyone who created this awesome community (including my friend Drew Tetz who I went to school with and told me about songfight to begin with) and continue to run it so some virginal angsty teen somewhere finds a reason to use his guitar for something else besides 3 Doors Down tabs and accidentally discovers an avenue of artistic expression that would soon become the focus of his life - among the many, many other ways songfight has benefited those who are lucky enough to know about it.

So the EP isn't out until April 1, but I wanted to share it with you guys:

http://www.rickenbachmusic.com/songfight/