DAW-talk

Ask questions and get answers about how to make music in any particular way. Hardware or songwriting or whatever.

Moderator: Mods

User avatar
fluffy
Boo
Posts: 9429
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:56 am
Instruments: sometimes
Recording Method: Logic Pro X
Submitting as: Sockpuppet
Location: The Plaidlands (also, Seattle)
Contact:

Re: DAW-talk

Postby fluffy » Tue May 01, 2018 7:33 pm

Ah, neat. That's somewhat different than what I was describing and it actually sounds kind of unwieldy to me, but at least they're thinking about ways of expanding the possible repertoire of operations you can do on a track.
User avatar
ujnhunter
Hachikō
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 1:09 pm
Instruments: Bass, Keyboards, Crummy Guitar & Animal Noises (especially Donkeys)
Recording Method: Reaper 5.7x, Tascam FireOne/Behringer UMC202HD/Avid Eleven Rack, Win 7 PC / Win 10 Laptop
Submitting as: Cock, Chth*.*, D.A.H. (Der Alter Hahn)
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Re: DAW-talk

Postby ujnhunter » Wed May 02, 2018 11:21 am

Re: Playhead, I think I must be the opposite, as I recently had problems using the playhead in Reason\Cakewalk (can't remember which, maybe both?) and I'm used to setting my start point which doesn't change unless I change it... hitting space to play/stop but in those programs it just pauses or something and if you hit it again it just continues playing... so I'd make some changes, etc... and want to re-listen to my looped region... and it would just start somewhere in the middle instead of the beginning! So aggravating! Why should I have to keep setting my start position?! Ah well... I guess this is the reason why one DAW does not fit all.
-Ujn Hunter
Photovoltaik - Free 6 Track EP - Song Fight! Liner Notes
Billy's Little Trip wrote:I must have this....in my mouth.....now.
User avatar
fluffy
Boo
Posts: 9429
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:56 am
Instruments: sometimes
Recording Method: Logic Pro X
Submitting as: Sockpuppet
Location: The Plaidlands (also, Seattle)
Contact:

Re: DAW-talk

Postby fluffy » Fri May 04, 2018 11:11 am

Oh, definitely. Although if I'm auditioning just a specific section with start point I put it into cycle mode, which has the side effect of always starting playback at a certain point in addition to looping the section.

But yeah, different DAWs work differently and so do different peoples' brains. I keep on trying to make sense of Ableton Live because it seems to do a lot of things I'd like to do, but I just can't brain it at all.
User avatar
HeuristicsInc
Owney
Posts: 5226
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:14 pm
Instruments: Synths
Recording Method: Windows computer, Acid, Synths etc.
Submitting as: Heuristics Inc. (duh) + collabs
Location: Maryland USA
Contact:

Re: DAW-talk

Postby HeuristicsInc » Fri May 04, 2018 12:30 pm

I had that trouble with Live too, it made me feel really dumb that I couldn't make sense of it.
-bill
152612141617123326211316121416172329292119162316331829382412351416132117152332252921
http://heuristicsinc.com
Liner Notes
SF Lyric Ideas

Return to “Help and How To”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests