Page 1 of 1

Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:16 am
by fluffy
do want

I am a sucker for strings, and spend way more time than necessary trying to tune sample-based stringed instruments to have a modicum of expressiveness. I keep on wishing for a good modeled string synthesizer, and while this one doesn't sound perfectly natural it sure sounds close!





I do wish they had a demo version so I could try it out with my MIDI touch controllers (they of course have their own controller that's demonstrated in the video but it costs like $400 and I don't see much other use for it in my setup) but I'm pretty close to pulling the trigger. $49 for each one as a standalone or $115 for all three together — costs less than what I paid for my cello bow.

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 3:05 am
by vowlvom
Sounds interesting, looking forward to checking out the videos when I'm not at work.

I've heard good things about SWAM for modeled strings too: https://audiomodeling.com/solo-strings/ ... gs-bundle/
Arché is more affordable though.

Do any of your MIDI controllers support MPE, fluffy? I keep being tempted by the new MPE controllers as they sound like they'd be really interesting for getting a more expressive sound for strings and wind instruments. The Eigenharp looks particularly interesting because it has a breath controller included. Basically I want to become a virtuoso trumpet player without learning how to play the trumpet.

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:24 am
by fluffy
I don’t have any MPE controllers but I’ve been thinking of getting a Rolli at some point. Which is a thing that Arché specifically supports. It’d also be more useful than the Touché. My main controller these days is the original Komplete Kontrol S88 which is a sorta traditional keyboard but it has a touch strip instead of a mod wheel, and it supports both continuous sustain pedals and an expression pedal (both of which I have hooked up) as well as single-channel aftertouch. I figure between all those things I should be able to get all the expressiveness I want out of Arché.

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:52 am
by vowlvom
Had a listen now, sounds really great to me! Their touch controller looks fun, but I can’t imagine it does anything too differently to the competition. My main MIDI controller at the moment is a digital piano thing so it has a good keyboard but no extra expression. Definitely getting gear-lust for some kind of expressive controller soon...

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:00 pm
by fluffy
Finally found a video of someone actually using it live and holy cow it's great:


Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:28 pm
by vowlvom
That is extremely cool. Actually now wondering whether their Touché controller thing might be exactly what I need! Bloody impressive videos making me want to spend money.

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:34 pm
by fluffy
Well, if it "helps," here's a review of the Touché SE I found which is pretty informative:


Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:47 pm
by Lunkhead
Whoa cool, the original has CV also?! They both seem very cool.

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:02 pm
by vowlvom
Haha, well that video certainly didn't do anything to put me off. It does like look like a really cool way to add some expressive control without having to totally rethink / reorganise a cluttered studio.

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:03 pm
by fluffy
I ended up buying it tonight, and holy heck is it crashy. Also it doesn't have any built-in way of mapping the MIDI controllers and expects you to set up a control surface if you don't have the Touché controller. This isn't an auspicious start. :(

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:48 am
by fluffy
Oh nice, their tech support got back to me pretty quickly and said the crashing is a known bug and they're going to be releasing a fix for it within the next week.

While I had their attention I asked if there was a way to map MIDI controller changes directly to the bow channel, because that's what I was really hoping for in my workflow. Hopefully they get back to me on that soon.

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 9:51 am
by vowlvom
Well, I ordered a Touché SE in the end. Seemed like a really well priced way to add a ton of expressivity to my MIDIs.

Didn't notice the requirements section that said "requires Windows 10" though, did I?
And it really does, apparently. Fails to work at all on my Win7 laptop. No problem at all on my work laptop.

Do I send it back or upgrade? Hmmm.

Re: Arché modeling string synthesizer

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 10:46 am
by fluffy
Oh, that’s unfortunate.

FWIW if you do decide to upgrade I highly recommend going with Pro if you can. Home has a lot of frustrating problems.