Greetings and questions, all in one!

Ask questions and get answers about how to make music in any particular way. Hardware or songwriting or whatever.
cochise
Llama

Greetings and questions, all in one!

Post by cochise »

First off, greetings and salutations to all the songfighters out there. I've been admiring your creations for a few years now, but until recently, wasn't much of a music maker. That brings me to the questions part. I acquired some equipment from a friend ditching music so I've got:

MXL 990 mic
M Audio Mobile Pre interface
Fruity Loops, not sure what version, 4 maybe?
Acid v4 I think
some various plugins and effects, I think there's a mic modeler in there
various cables

And I have a set of Grado SR80 headphones if that helps any.

Okay, I've been playing with some tunes and the like and my main problem is getting the vocals to blend with the instruments. I either overdo the instruments or overdo the vocals, can't seem to get a more pro smoothness. I know it isn't much to go on, but I don't know the technical terms just yet. Thanks much

Cochise
ken
Stable Diffusion
Instruments: Guitar, bass, drums, keys
Recording Method: MOTU 828x, Cubase 10
Submitting as: Ken's Super Duper Band 'n Stuff
Pronouns: he/him

Post by ken »

You might try adding compression to your vocals and instruments separately, then to the mix overall.

Ken
Ken's Super Duper Band 'n Stuff - Berkeley Social Scene - Tiny Robots - Seamus Collective - Semolina Pilchards - Cutie Pies - Explino! - Bravo Bros. - 2 from 14 - and more!

i would just like to remind everyone that Ken eats kittens - blue lang
jack
Stable Diffusion
Recording Method: ProTools, Logic, Garageband
Submitting as: brody, Jack Shite, Johnny in the Corner, Bloody Hams, lots more

Post by jack »

a couple things to try:

play with your panning. strive for good seperation between the instruments.

play with the levels of your tracks. adjust them each to balance things.

make gratuitous use of reverb.