Total votes: 25
Kill Me Sarah
Panama
Instruments: Guitar, GarageBand
Recording Method: GarageBand, TonePort UXII, Reaper, MXL 990 & 991 Mics
Submitting as: Kill Me Sarah, Bonfire of the Manatees, Hurrikitten

Do You Think Music Knowledge Helps Or Hurts

Post by Kill Me Sarah »

I have heard arguments from both camps. Personally, I've always felt hindered by my lack of technical knowledge. I can't tell you what key I'm playing in. I can't write anything but TAB and my vocabulary is lacking. On the other hand I have a friend who I respect as an amazing musician who learned music theory very well and has told me that he has actually tried to forget or unlearn everything he learned because he feels it hinders his creative process. What do you think?
"[...] so plodding it actually hurts a little bit" - Smalltown Mike
WeaselSlayer
Ice Cream Man
Instruments: Guitar, keyboard
Recording Method: Garageband, laptop mic
Submitting as: Luke Henley

Post by WeaselSlayer »

I'm a student in the Page Hamilton school. Learn all the theory, learn all the scales and keys and chords and everything. And the second you pick up the guitar to play, forget all of it. You have to learn the rules in order to break them.
fodroy
Ice Cream Man
Instruments: none
Recording Method: ears
Submitting as: praise muzak

Post by fodroy »

I always hated learning theory, but I'm sure that if I had never learned it I'd be 100 times worse than I am. I really forget most about it now though. So pretty much what Luke said.
a bebop a rebop
Push Comes to Shove

Post by a bebop a rebop »

I love learning music theory, plus I'm not any good at writing songs. So I voted helps.
THIS IS NO JOKE
furrypedro
Ice Cream Man
Instruments: Guitar, programming
Recording Method: Cubase, Reason
Submitting as: Balance Lost

Post by furrypedro »

A double-edged sword this one I think.